Patti's Porch

REVIEW OF THREE NON-FICTION BOOKS
6/7/2014 12:00:01 AM by: Patti Shene

I haven't been much of a fan of non-fiction in the past, but my membership in The Book Club Network has changed my mind Here are reviews of three books I have received from them in recent weeks. 

 

HE WHO HAS AN EAR by Laura J. Davis

I’ve participated in a couple of Bible studies of the book of Revelation, and the letters to the seven churches of Asia Minor always remained a mystery to me.

He Who Has An Ear, by Laura Davis, is one of the most informative non-fiction books I have read in quite a while. It addresses these seven churches and clearly defines the message Jesus conveyed to each one. It goes on to explain the nature of each church, the positives, the negatives, what each needs to do to strengthen their weaknesses, and consequences that will be faced if they do not comply.

This book also relates those seven churches to the nature of churches today. Written in language that is easily understood and backed up with scriptural references, the author backs up her statements with scriptural references. She also points out popular false doctrine that is becoming prevalent today and the dangers therein.

He Who Hass An Ear is a must read for any church official or parishioner who wishes to be involved with a healthy, Christ-centered church.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.

 

I BELIEVE IN HEAVEN by Cecil Murphy & Twila Belk

These authors have done an outstanding job of presenting the essence of Heaven in their book, I Believe in Heaven. This is one of the best books I have ever read about the subject of near death experiences and life after death.

The first part of the book is packed with a series of authenticated testimonies of people who have had experiences that took them to the life beyond this one, either heaven or hell. Many of the stories have similar elements, others chronicle unique observations and sensations. These various accounts encompass different beliefs and span many generations. Some of the stories speak to major changes in a person’s life after the experience.

Part II addresses frequently asked questions about Heaven. The answers are based on Biblical truth and not speculation.

This book is inspiring and brimming with the hope that a painless, joy-filled eternity in the presence of our Lord awaits. It urges the reader to pause and think about where he or she will spend eternity when his or her life journey is over without preaching, but a simple presentation of facts.

I recommend I Believe in Heaven to anyone who has lost a loved one, who fears death and what lies beyond, or who is curious about our future eternal home.

I received this book from the publisher through Fred St Laurent of the Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.

DEEP RELIEF NOW by Dennis & Dr. Jen Clark

Deep Relief Now outlines a simple means to heal emotional hurts based on Christian truths.

The first portion of the book tells the individual stories of Dennis and Dr Jen and how their lives intersected.

Dennis then explains the need to connect, stay connected, and reconnect to Christ within us, through simple prayer. He talks about how our spirit is in constant battle with our flesh. He describes the center of our thoughts, emotions, and our will.

Jen talks about allowing Christ to enter through the heart’s door and how our communications with God through prayer should be a spirit to spirit experience rather than just words or “lists” of thank yous and requests. We need to be in touch with how we feel and learn to pray to God within, not the God far off in Heaven.

The book goes on to expand on these principles and gives examples throughout of people who have been healed by using the Deep Relief Now process. Scripture is used throughout the book, and the authors’ genuine devotion to God and to helping others heal is strongly evident.

I have not initiated these principles in my own life as yet, so am unable to speak to their effectiveness. However, I am left with the impression that a person would need to be strongly rooted in their faith and have a deep understanding of their relationship with Christ to be able to apply these thought processes to a truly wounded and hurting spirit.

I would recommend this book as a resource to those who are burdened by a need to forgive, a need to overcome anger, or a need to recover from other crippling emotions that block them from leading a spiritually healthy life.

I received this book from Destiny Image books through Fred St Laurent of The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review. 

link my boyfriend cheated on me with my mom why people cheat in relationships

Patti’s Porch


Previous Posts

WELCOME AUTHOR GAIL PALLOTTA
9/17/2017 5:35:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME WRITER KARIN BEERY
9/9/2017 11:40:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR LATAYNE C. SCOTT
9/2/2017 3:51:00 AM  by: Patti

WELCOME AUTHOR LAURA V. HILTON
8/26/2017 1:25:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JENNIFER SLATTERY
8/20/2017 11:40:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME WRITER JENNY HARRISON
8/12/2017 12:56:00 PM  by: Patti

WELCOME AUTHOR JENNIFER HALLMARK
8/4/2017 1:47:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CHRISTINA LORENZEN
7/28/2017 10:10:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CYNTHIA ROEMER
7/21/2017 11:30:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JENNA BRANDT
7/15/2017 1:15:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR KRIS VALDEZ
7/8/2017 2:42:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ELLE E. KAY
7/1/2017 1:14:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR REGINA RUDD MERRICK
6/24/2017 12:45:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR LEE CARVER
6/16/2017 11:45:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR KIMBERLY ROSE JOHNSON
6/9/2017 12:15:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JULIE ARDUINI
6/3/2017 8:30:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JOHNNIE ALEXANDER
5/27/2017 1:14:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR VALERIE COMER
5/20/2017 7:00:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JODIE WOLFE
5/13/2017 3:00:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR DELIA LATHAM
5/6/2017 1:10:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR DEANNA KLINGEL
4/29/2017 1:00:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JENNA VICTORIA
4/21/2017 11:20:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

THE SMALL MIRACLES
4/17/2017 11:35:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR TAMERA RAFT
4/1/2017 9:46:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR SUSAN PAGE DAVIS
3/25/2017 12:55:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ALEXIS A. GORING
3/10/2017 10:40:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

THE HIGH CALLING OF MOTHERHOOD BLOG TOUR!
3/8/2017 3:00:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR SUE BARR
3/4/2017 11:10:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR KIMBERLY ROSE JOHNSON
2/25/2017  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ROBIN PATCHEN
2/18/2017 11:05:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JUNE FOSTER
2/11/2017 12:30:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR PATRICIA BRADLEY
2/4/2017 2:43:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR GAIL KITTLESON
1/29/2017 11:11:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR LILLIAN DUNCAN
1/21/2017 3:20:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR MARY L. BALL
1/14/2017 12:50:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR VALERIE COMER
1/7/2017 12:50:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JOI COPELAND
12/17/2016 11:00:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR TERRI WELDON
12/9/2016 10:15:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR LEEANN BETTS
12/2/2016 9:39:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR RENEE BLARE
11/5/2016 5:45:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JO HUDDLESTON
10/29/2016 9:45:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CLEO LAMPOS
10/14/2016 10:00:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR KELLY KLEPFER
10/1/2016 5:09:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ANGELA D. MEYER
9/16/2016 1:03:00 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR DONNA SCHLACHTER
9/3/2016 1:56:03 AM  by: Patti Shene

WHEN GOD SAYS "NO!"
8/22/2016 12:39:59 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR GAIL PALLOTTA
8/13/2016 6:12:58 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JAMES CALLAN
8/6/2016 12:19:38 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CAROLE BROWN
7/29/2016 10:27:52 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CHRISTINE LINDSAY
6/3/2016 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR LEANN BETTS
5/20/2016 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Manners Are Golden ~ What the Bible Says by Nike Chillemi
5/7/2016 12:27:37 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR DIANE KALAS
4/16/2016 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR TANYA EAVENSON
4/1/2016 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JENNIFER SLATTERY
3/18/2016 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JODIE WOLFE
3/4/2016 10:22:23 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR KARIN BEERY
2/24/2016 11:00:18 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ANGELA RUTH STRONG
2/6/2016 12:49:04 AM  by: Patti Shene

REVIEW OF SNOW OUT OF SEASON BY CHRISTY BRUNKE
1/29/2016 11:52:52 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ELAINE STOCK
1/16/2016 12:57:46 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR GAIL PALLOTTA
1/2/2016 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

IS CHRISTMAS REALLY OVER?
12/26/2015 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ANE MULLIGAN
12/13/2015 4:00:04 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ANE MULLIGAN
12/13/2015 3:51:47 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR BROOKE COX
11/29/2015 4:17:05 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR H L WEGLEY
11/6/2015 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

PERSPECTIVE
11/1/2015 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JO HUDDLESTON
10/23/2015 11:28:03 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR SALLY CHAMBERS
10/16/2015 10:21:11 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR TERESA POLLARD
10/9/2015 11:37:57 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR GAIL KITTLESON
10/3/2015 5:04:45 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR PAULA MOWERY
9/11/2015 10:39:52 PM  by: Patti Shene

LIFE AFTER LIFE BY JUNE FOSTER
8/22/2015 10:18:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

INTRODUCING A NEW BLOGGING COMMUNITY
8/9/2015 11:24:30 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR SUSAN ANNE MASON
7/24/2015 11:37:04 PM  by: Patti Shene

WHY WE WAIT
7/11/2015 10:51:21 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR MISTY BELLER
6/27/2015 10:51:06 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ELIZABETH MADDREY
6/13/2015 1:32:20 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR DONNA DOUGLAS
5/22/2015 10:51:09 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JO HUDDLESTON
5/9/2015 7:57:00 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR LEE CARVER
4/10/2015 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR VALERIE COMER
3/27/2015 11:19:26 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR MARIAN MERRITT
3/14/2015 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR AMBER STOCKTON
2/27/2015 11:00:12 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CONNIE ALMONY
2/14/2015 8:01:40 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JAMES CALLAN
1/24/2015 1:41:32 PM  by: Patti Shene

A MODERN DAY MIRACLE
1/16/2015 10:59:08 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CONNIE PEASE
1/10/2015 7:44:16 PM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART SEVEN
12/27/2014 11:17:48 AM  by: Patti Shene

AUTHOR GINA WELBORN RETURNS
12/20/2014 11:08:16 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR SUSAN ANNE MASON
12/18/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WHAT DOES ADVENT MEAN TO YOU?
12/14/2014 3:45:38 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR PEG PHIFER
12/8/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JANET K. BROWN
12/6/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

AUTHOR H. L. WEGLEY WRAPS UP PURE GENIUS SERIES
11/29/2014 12:36:32 PM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART SIX
11/22/2014 6:55:52 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR BILL GARRISON
11/14/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WHAT DO YOU MISS?
11/8/2014 2:41:19 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CAMILLE EIDE
11/1/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART FIVE
10/25/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

DINOSAURS AND THE BIBLE
10/19/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR GINA WELBORN
10/10/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

POINT TO POINT TO POINT
10/5/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART FOUR
9/27/2014 9:25:12 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ANE MULLIGAN
9/19/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

BY THE NUMBERS
9/15/2014 2:24:11 PM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR ADA BROWNELL
9/5/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR JENNIFER SLATTERY
8/30/2014 10:56:45 PM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART THREE
8/23/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR REBECCA DeMARINO
8/16/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

SITTING IDLE
8/10/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

It's Hot Out Here! by CHERI SWALWELL
8/3/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART TWO
7/26/2014 11:01:15 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR CAROLE BROWN
7/20/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WHY DO WE DO WHAT WE DO?
7/14/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

AUTHOR H. L. WEGLEY RETURNS
7/5/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

PRAYER CHANGES THINGS - PART ONE
6/27/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR AVA PENNINGTON
6/20/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

UNEXPECTED ACTS OF KINDNESS
6/16/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

REVIEW OF THREE NON-FICTION BOOKS
6/7/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

AN INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR RENEE BLARE
5/30/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

SEVEN WAYS TO STRETCH SPIRITUALLY BY ADA BROWNELL
5/17/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WHEN FINE IS NOT REALLY FINE
4/23/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

MOMMY MEMOIRS BY ANN VAN DE WATER
4/19/2014 5:33:04 PM  by: Patti Shene

PLAY BALL!
4/17/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

JOE THE DREAMER BY AUTHOR A. B. BROWNELL
4/12/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

ON THE PINEAPPLE EXPRESS BY H. L. WEGLEY
4/4/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

THE THIEF BY STEPHANIE LANDSEM
3/29/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

HUMOR AT THE HOSPITAL
3/26/2014 9:45:22 PM  by: Patti Shene

HEAR NO EVIL BY MARY HAMILTON
3/22/2014 2:39:47 PM  by: Patti Shene

WHEN THE ROAD GETS LONG AND LONELY
3/19/2014 12:56:57 PM  by: Patti Shene

INTRODUCING RYAN'S FATHER BY JUNE FOSTER
3/15/2014 4:19:04 PM  by: Patti Shene

WHERE ARE YOU THE MOST VULNERABLE?
3/13/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

INTERVIEW WITH WRITER BROOKE COX
3/8/2014 11:44:40 AM  by: Patti Shene

Patti's Porch Welcomes Author Rebecca Carey Lyles
3/1/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Flying for Jesus by Lee Carver
2/22/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Putting Out the Fleece by Paula Mowery
2/15/2014 1:02:11 PM  by: Patti Shene

What We Can Learn From the Olympics
2/12/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Hush, Little Baby by Deborah M. Piccurelli
2/8/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Baby, It's Cold Outside!
2/5/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

A Matter of Perspective
2/1/2014 12:52:05 AM  by: Patti Shene

Introducing The Pure Genius Series by H. L. Wegley
1/25/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Monopoly!
1/21/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

welcome author Cheri Swalwell
1/17/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

What Did You Mean By That?
1/14/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Wildlife Video
1/10/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

My Best Reads of 2013
1/8/2014 1:28:40 AM  by: Patti Shene

The Dumbest Kid in School
1/3/2014 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Good-bye to 2013
1/1/2014 1:35:09 AM  by: Patti Shene

Focusing on What Christmas Really Means
12/22/2013 7:00:40 PM  by: Patti Shene

One Spectacular Christmas Display
12/19/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Where are You Going This Advent Season?
11/29/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Shared Experience
11/24/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Facing the Monster
10/25/2013 12:46:47 AM  by: Patti Shene

Review of Reign by Ginger Garrett
9/27/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

I'll Be Happy When...
5/14/2013 11:49:55 PM  by: Patti Shene

Sing Praises - Whether You Can Sing or Not
5/5/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

I Can't Do This!
5/2/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

BREAKING THE RULES
4/28/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

WELCOME AUTHOR TINA PINSON
4/21/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Vulnerability to Fear
4/17/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Faith and Fear
4/15/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Those Temporary Interruptions
2/21/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Grand Prize Winner at Int'l Wildlife Film Festival
2/7/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Starsongs Giveaway Contest
2/3/2013 2:04:28 AM  by: Patti Shene

Taking Stock
1/30/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Welcome Author Janet K Brown
1/26/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Winter - Bah Humbug!
1/22/2013 10:18:37 PM  by: Patti Shene

Welcome Author Tanya Eavenson
1/19/2013 10:35:41 AM  by: Patti Shene

Welcome Author Margaret Brownley
1/16/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Travel Writing = Nearly Shooting Peacocks
1/12/2013 4:00:39 PM  by: Patti Shene

Water, Water Everywhere - or Maybe Not
1/9/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

The last Day of the Christmas Season
1/5/2013 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Accountability in the Extreme
1/2/2013 12:38:47 AM  by: Patti Shene

The day after Christmas
12/26/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

It's Dec 22nd - And We're Still Here!
12/22/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

The Next Big Thing - Blog Hopping
12/19/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Vanquishing the Christmas Blues by Linda Rondeau
12/15/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Christmas Rayne by Joi Copeland
12/12/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

The Christmas Stalking by Lillian Duncan
12/8/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

News From Nashville & Beyond
12/4/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Author Susan Sleeman offers great advice about wor
11/13/2012 2:10:37 PM  by: Patti Shene

Welcome Home!
11/13/2012 2:00:24 PM  by: Patti Shene

Confessions of a first book editor
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Going Home
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

GPCWC in Restospect
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Vacation in the Adirondacks of New York
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

I am pleased to welcome author Staci Stallings
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Meet Award-Winning Journalist And Author Ada Brownell
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

An Interview with Author Eddie Jones
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene

Nano Day 11 - um - day 1?
11/13/2012 12:00:01 AM  by: Patti Shene